Glass Canada

Features Association news Community
Top engineering projects honoured at the Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards Gala

April 22, 2015  By CEO

April 22, 2015 – Consulting Engineers of Ontario (CEO) held its 2015 Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards Gala on April 18th at the International Centre. CEO’s premier event of the year recognized 12 engineering firms that have applied outstanding professional leadership and engineering innovation to improve the economic, social and environmental quality of life in Ontario and around the globe.

In its 13th year, the Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards is one of the province’s most respected engineering events. “The annual awards brings our industry together to recognize consulting engineers for their achievements and contributions to public service”, says Barry Steinberg, chief executive officer of CEO.
Special this year was the addition of CEO’s 40th anniversary celebration. Congratulating CEO for its commitment to positive change in the industry and Ontario, Premier Kathleen Wynne sent a special video message. “Congratulations on the 40th anniversary of Consulting Engineers of Ontario. It is my pleasure to help you celebrate the incredible technical excellence and knowledge you bring to your profession and to our province,” said Premier Wynne.
The evening’s keynote speaker was the Honourable Michael Coteau, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport and Minister Responsible for the 2015 Pan/Parapan Am Games. In his remark, Minister Coteau recognized the partnership between engineers and the province in building Ontario up to welcome visitors from around the world. Also speaking to gala attendees was the Honourable Bob Rae.  Remarking on their contribution to society he noted that “The monuments to engineers are all around us.”
The most anticipated award of the night, the Willis Chipman Award, went to ELLIS Engineering for developing an innovative approach to reconstructing the Canadian Niagara Forebay Bridge while preserving the original stonework.
Other winners included R. E. Poisson Engineering; Cowater International; Associated Engineering; Hallsall Associates; Hatch Mott MacDonald; Adjeleian Allen Rubeli; Hatch with Ontario Power Generation; AECOM with MMM Group; AMEC Environment & Infrastructure; and Parsons.

For more information


Print this page


Stories continue below


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *