Glass Canada

Features Association news Community
Fenestration Canada inducts 12 Pioneers

November 21, 2012  By Fenestration Canada

pioneers_smallNov. 21, 2012 – It was all smiles at Win-Door on Nov. 8 as Fenestration Canada honoured 12 leaders in the  window and door industry with induction into the ranks of its Pioneers hall of fame. The induction ceremony took place in the presentation theatre, with drinks and dinner following upstairs in the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. 

Nov. 21, 2012 – It was all smiles at Win-Door on Nov. 8 as Fenestration
honoured 12 leaders in the  window and door industry with
induction into the ranks of its Pioneers hall of fame. The induction
ceremony took place in the presentation theatre, with drinks and dinner
following upstairs in the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

Incumbent Pioneers Pierre Grand'Maison, Jim Parker and Barry Murray helped induct the new honourees.


Inductees were presented by the members of the Pioneer Committee, Pierre
Grand'Maison, Jim Parker, Yvan Houle, Dan Darcy, Richard Lipman, Robert
Rivard and Barry Murray.


audetteFrancois Audette was inducted for his achievements first with Stanley Doors in 1979, then in forming Portes Dimensions as a small door prehanger in 1988. The family business has expanded to 102,000 square feet in in Boisbriand, Que., with 140 employees. It currently produces over 200,000 steel and wood doors per year. Audette is well known for his enthusiasm for car racing. His sons, Mathieu and Remy race in the Canadian Touring Car Championship circuit and the Audette racing cars have appeared as featured attractions at past Win-Doors.

Jean Chchampagneampagne was recognized as the co-founder of Resiver Patio Doors in Beauceville, Que, in 1992.  He was noted as a devoted supporter of Win-Door as an exhibitor. Resiver was sold to Novatech in 2010. Champagne continues as president and director-general of Resiver.

Patrice lamyLamy formed Verre Select in Terrebonne, Que., in 1980. He developed several new types of decorative glass lines. His company has grown to the point where they now enjoy 45 per cent of the decorative glass market in the province of Quebec.

elmahdyDr. Hakim Elmahdy has been active in research on energy analysis, heat and mass transfer, windows, doors, skylights, insulating glass units and  insulated wall systems for 37 years. He has shown active and extensive leadership in professional roles with the Standards Council of Canada, the Canadian Standards Association, the Canadian General Standards Board, ASTM, ASHRAE, ISO, the National Fenestration Rating Council, Fenestration Canada and the Insulating Glass Manufacturing Alliance.

finnenJerry Finnen started with Dashwood Industries in 1958. In 21 years with Dashwood, he helped it grow into a national company with over 800 employees. In 1980 he joined Golden Windows as a partner and expanded the company throughout Ontario and into the U.S. market. Finnen was president of the Canadian Window and Door Manufacturers Association in 1979 and on the board of the Ontario Lumber and Building Materials Association and the Canadian Manufacturers’ Council. He won several awards in advertising and home show displays.

Michael Glgloverover founded Edgetech IG in 1985. The new company developed a flexible foam spacer for insulating glass units which was marketed under the name Super Spacer.  For the past 20 years,  Glover has been a member of CSA’s A440 window standard committee and he has participated in other industry groups, including the Insulating Glass Manufacturers Association of Canada and NFRC.

reichertGerhard Reichert was co-inventor of Edgetech's Super Spacer in 1989. He moved on to Glasslam NGI in 2008, and now Fenestration and Glass Services. Reichert led the initiatives to promote warm edge technology and high-volume automatic production in insulating glass products worldwide. He is active in industry committees at IGMA, the Sealed Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance and IGMA.

Morghanaman Hanam started his career in the window and door industry in 1977 with Golden Windows. In 1999, he became head of the window division for Enermodal Engineering. His many contributions to the industry include a term as CWDMA president in 1997 and '98, and committee work for CWDMA, CSA, CGSB, IGMAC, and NFRC. Hanam was the recipient of the CP Loewen Award in 2000 for his strong contribution to the industry and CSA's 25 Years of Service award in 2010.

orpeJerry Orpe's career dates back to 1962 with Grant Industries. In 1972 he joined the Indal Group with Western Aluminum Products, in 1976 moved to Window Master and in 1979 on to Westwood Windows. In 1981, Orpe founded Nose Creek Forest Products and grew it into a major millwork supplier to the window industry. He sold Nose Creek to Sauder Industries in 1987 and retired. Orpe was vice-president of CWDMA in 1977. He served on the committees for metric conversion and CSA standards for wood windows.

Glenn Syrowsyrowitzitz joined Custom Extruders in 1970. In 1980, he co-founded Engineered Profiles in Calgary, Alta. Business grew from custom profiles to window and door systems that were sold across Canada. In 1989, EPL was sold to Sauder Industries. Westlake bought EPL in 1994 and it became Westech Building Products. With Syrowitz’s support as general manager, his staff helped start the Win-Door show, the Window & Balcony Safety program and technical committees for Fenestration Canada and the American Architectural Manufactures Assocation. He continues as general manager at Westech with emphasis on R & D.

lichtyIn 1983, Mervin Lichty founded MDL Doors with his wife, Tillie, in Brussels, Ont. MDL has grown to become one of Ontario’s largest exterior door manufacturers. Mervin has supported Fenestration Canada on the board of directors and in several committees.

Ray Wakefiwakefieldeld has served  twice  as  president of IGMAC and was instrumental in discussions that led to the merging of IGMAC and SIGMA into IGMA. Presently, he is past president of IGMA as well as the Insulating Glass Certification Council and is the current chair of the IGMA Technical Services Committee  Wakefield also participates on the IGMA Technical Policy Committee and is the Canadian IGMA representative at ASTM and ISO.

Related links

Print this page


Stories continue below


1 Comment » for Fenestration Canada inducts 12 Pioneers
  1. Avatar photo Gary McKenzie says:

    I own a home which has a code inside the window between the panes “IGMAC Indal Port Coq 1989”.
    One of the windows has become misty and I would like to replace the glass. When I call a glass company they want to know the thickness of the glass and the total thickness of the window. Since it is not broken it is difficult to measure. I believe you were the maker of this window. Can you help me.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *