Glass Canada

Features Association news Community
Fenestration Canada: December 2012

Welcome, Pioneers

December 13, 2012  By Yvan Houle

It was all smiles at Win-Door as Fenestration Canada honoured 12 leaders
in the  window and door industry with induction into the ranks of our
Pioneers hall of fame.

It was all smiles at Win-Door as Fenestration Canada honoured 12 leaders in the  window and door industry with induction into the ranks of our Pioneers hall of fame. The induction ceremony took place in the presentation theatre, with drinks and dinner following upstairs in the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Inductees were presented by the members of the Pioneer Committee, Pierre Grand’Maison, Jim Parker, Dan Darcy, Richard Lipman, Robert Rivard and Barry Murray.

Francois Audette was inducted for his achievements first with Stanley Doors in 1979, then in forming Portes Dimensions as a small door prehanger in 1988.

Jean Champagne was recognized as the co-founder of Resiver Patio Doors in Beauceville, Qu., in 1992. He was noted as a devoted supporter of Win-Door as an exhibitor.


Patrice Lamy formed Verre Select in Terrebonne, Que., in 1980. He developed several new types of decorative glass lines.

Dr. Hakim Elmahdy has been active in research on energy analysis, heat and mass transfer, windows, doors, skylights, insulating glass units and insulated wall systems for 37 years. He has shown active and extensive leadership in professional roles with the Standards Council of Canada, the Canadian Standards Association, the Canadian General Standards Board, ASTM, ASHRAE, ISO, the National Fenestration Rating Council, Fenestration Canada and the Insulating Glass Manufacturing Alliance.

Jerry Finnen started with Dashwood Industries in 1958. In 1980 he joined Golden Windows as a partner and expanded the company throughout Ontario and into the U.S. market. Finnen was president of the Canadian Window and Door Manufacturers Association in 1979 and on the board of the Ontario Lumber and Building Materials Association and the Canadian Manufacturers’ Council.

Michael Glover founded Edgetech IG in 1985. For the past 20 years,  Glover has been a member of CSA’s A440 window standard committee and he has participated in other industry groups, including the Insulating Glass Manufacturers Association of Canada and NFRC.

Gerhard Reichert was co-inventor of Edgetech’s Super Spacer in 1989. He is active in industry committees at IGMA, the Sealed Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance and IGMA.

Morgan Hanam started his career in the window and door industry in 1977 with Golden Windows. In 1999, he became head of the window division for Enermodal Engineering. His many contributions to the industry include a term as CWDMA president in 1997 and ‘98, and committee work for CWDMA, CSA, CGSB, IGMAC, and NFRC. Hanam was the recipient of the CP Loewen Award in 2000 for his strong contribution to the industry and CSA’s 25 Years of Service award in 2010.

Jerry Orpe’s career dates back to 1962 with Grant Industries. In 1981, Orpe founded Nose Creek Forest Products and grew it into a major millwork supplier to the window industry. Orpe was vice-president of CWDMA in 1977. He served on the committees for metric conversion and CSA standards for wood windows.

Glenn Syrowitz joined Custom Extruders in 1970. In 1980, he co-founded Engineered Profiles in Calgary, Alta. Westlake bought EPL in 1994 and it became Westech Building Products. With Syrowitz’s support as general manager, his staff helped start the Win-Door show, the Window & Balcony Safety program and technical committees for Fenestration Canada and the American Architectural Manufactures Assocation.

In 1983, Mervin Lichty founded MDL Doors with his wife, Tillie, in Brussels, Ont. MDL has grown to become one of Ontario’s largest exterior door manufacturers. Mervin has supported Fenestration Canada on the board of directors and in several committees.
Ray Wakefield has served twice  as  president of IGMAC and was instrumental in discussions that led to the merging of IGMAC and SIGMA into IGMA. Presently, he is past president of IGMA as well as the Insulating Glass Certification Council and is the current chair of the IGMA Technical Services Committee  Wakefield also participates on the IGMA Technical Policy Committee and is the Canadian IGMA representative at ASTM and ISO.

Yvan Houle is president of Fenestration Canada. Fenestration Canada’s mission is to represent and support all aspects of the window and door manufacturing industry.

Print this page


Stories continue below