OGMA calls for nominations for Excellence Awards

January 22, 2015
Jan. 22, 2015 - The board of directors of the Ontario Glass and Metal Association is calling for nominations for its inaugural Awards for Excellence. Awards will be bestowed for excellence in architectural glass and metal design and for excellence in architectural glass and metal execution.

The Awards for Excellence are annual awards that recognize excellence in the design and execution of a non-residential building that incorporates the use of architectural glass and metal. One award will be presented in each category.
The awards competition opens in January of each year. Any member of the OGMA in good standing may submit as many nominations as they wish. Projects nominated will be reviewed by a panel of judges consisting of one OGMA Director and two practicing architects.
Submissions for nominations must include a minimum of 10 photographs of the nominated project and a comprehensive description of between 200 and 500 words. Submissions should be sent in digital format, accompanied by high resolution, print-quality photos.

The following criteria must be met in order for a project to be considered:
  • Nominations must be made on the official nomination form, which must be completely filled out.
  • The project must be located within the Province of Ontario.
  • The project architect must be registered with the OAA.
  • The glazing contractor must be registered as a business in Ontario.
  • The project must have been completed within the last five years.
  • Nominations must be made by a member in good standing of the Ontario Glass & Metal Association; however, the glazing contractor and the architectural/design firm need not be.
  • Members are not restricted in the number of nominations submitted.
  • The project must incorporate glazing systems from North American manufacturers.
  • Projects nominated need not be large; nominations can be made for portions of a project.

Nominations will be judged upon:

  • Unique, pleasing or complex design or features.
  • Level of difficulty in design.
  • Level of difficulty in execution and the quality of fabrication and installation, as indicated in the photos provided.
  • Incorporation of elements of sustainable design.

The architectural firm and glazing contractor selected to receive an award will be notified on March 20, 2015.
The awards will be presented at the Top Glass Conference on April 15, 2015. Award recipients are encouraged to attend the show to receive their award and to present the highlights of the winning nominations to show attendees.

For more information



Add comment

Security code

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

Coming Events

OGMA Spring Golf
May 30, 2019
AIA Conference
June 6-8, 2019
Glass Performance Days
June 16-28, 2019
IGMA Summer Conference
June 17-20, 2019
GlassBuild America
September 17-19, 2019

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.