Glass Canada

NAFS-11 now available

November 30, 2011  By American Archiutectural Manufacturer's Association

Nov. 30, 2011 – The 2011 edition of AAMA/WDMA/CSA 101/I.S.2/A440, NAFS "North American Fenestration Standard/Specification for windows, doors, and skylights" (NAFS-11) has received final approval and is now available. This standard is the result of a multi-year effort by the American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA), Canadian Standards Association (CSA) and Window & Door Manufacturers Association (WDMA). The updated 2011 standard replaces the 2008 edition of the joint standard.

The 2011 NAFS standard is already referenced in the 2012 editions of the
International Building Code and International Residential Code, and the
new standard is being proposed to replace the 2008 edition in the
National Building Code of Canada when it is updated.

The Joint Document Management Group, comprised of representatives
from all three associations, stresses the importance of NAFS-11. "The
newest version of NAFS was created to allow consumers more product
choices and clearer specifications. This expanded document will service
the fenestration needs of the building community for many years," says
Ray Garries, corporate manager of external affairs for Jeld-Wen,
who served as AAMA's group co-chair.

The standard underwent a thorough restructuring, with separate sections
for products, materials and components, as well as new product criteria
sections for parallel opening windows and secondary storm products. The
standard also expands the mullion and tubular daylighting device sections and adds lead content requirements for hardware.

"The 2011 version of NAFS is the latest product of the ongoing effort to
harmonize standards in North America. This effort started nearly 20
years ago and is evidence of the fenestration industry's desire to offer
our customers a single, unified performance specification across
borders. As someone who is a strong advocate for industry collaboration,
I am very appreciative of the efforts, diligence and cooperation from
all three associations. Everyone involved has worked hard to reach this
point and remains committed to continued improvement in future
editions," states Joe Hayden, senior project engineer for Pella Windows
and Doors, who served as Fenestration Canada's group co-chair.

The 2011 standard represents significant steps toward achieving seamless
trade across the U.S./Canadian border for fenestration industry
manufacturers. A Canadian Supplement to the standard has been created by
the CSA A440 Technical Committee to address those few Canada-only items
not included within the new NAFS standard.

Greg Hildebrand, head of the façade engineering group at Exp Services, who served as CSA's group co-chair, notes, "The 2011 version of
NAFS provides a new simpler-to-use comprehensive set of guidelines for a
broad spectrum of fenestration products. In conjunction with the
Canadian Supplement to NAFS, Canadian users benefit by having a more
complete, application-specific means of selecting the right products for
the job."

Copies of AAMA/WDMA/CSA 101/I.S.2/A440-11 are available for online
purchasing on the AAMA, Fenestration Canada or CSA websites.

Related links
Fenestration Canada
CSA Standards

Print this page


Stories continue below