Glass Canada

Features Association news Community
CGA Newsletter: February 2013

February 13, 2013  By CGA

Canadian Glass Association

Canadian Glass Association
We have completed our programming for the Glass Connections Montreal 2013 Conference at the Delta in Montreal on May 29-30.

The program will include a breakfast, lunch and table top opportunities.  As this year’s conference is held in Montreal we will also be providing translation services for all attendees.

Thanks again to a great technical committee, Leonard Pianalto (RJC), Steve Gusterson (Alumicor), Brent Harder (Ferguson) and Shawn Wessel (RSVP Agencies).


Our colleagues at the AIPVFQ – Association des industries de produits de vitrerie et de fenestration du Québec will be our local hosts.  Their directeur general, Gilbert Lemay, will provide some assistance for us on the day of the event.  Thank you to AIPVFQ and Gilbert for their commitment and support.

We will be holding our first AGM on May 29 at the Delta under the new set of bylaws.  This will be a very interesting time for us as it will be the first time we will have an elected board of directors.

More information on the conference and the AGM will be posted on our website ( ) very soon.

Ontario Glass and Metal Association

Colin Gollert, 1941-2012.


OGMA members were saddened by the passing of Colin Gollert on Oct. 29 at the age of 71. A former board member of the Metro Toronto Glass Association (the predecessor of OGMA) and the recipient of the 2010 OGMA Lifetime Achievement Award, he commenced his working life at PPG’s local branch and during the next several years worked there and at the main regional branch in London, Ont. In 1964 he was transferred to Calgary where for five years he was part of the Alberta sales team. He was called back east for promotion and in 1969 he took up a national sales manager position, operating from PPG’s Toronto head office. He resigned from PPG in 1972 and was hired by Gerry Harrison as Ontario sales manager for Walker Glass. In 1974, the company was merged with Atlantic Glass to form Walker Atlantic Glass with Gollert joining Alex Cox, George Scullion and Harrison as the founding partners. He sold his shares and withdrew from the partnership in 1987 taking a sort of sabbatical, until in 1993 he re-joined Walker Glass as Ontario sales manager. His responsibilities were expanded two years later to include western Canada.  The year 2011 stands out as it was in that year that Colin posted the all-time best single-year sales record for any sales person in Walker’s 70-year history, one year before his death from throat cancer.

The Ontario Glass and Metal Association announced at its fall seminar that it is giving a bursary award to first year students in the Glaziers and Metalworkers Apprentice Program run by the Ontario Industrial and Finishing Skills Centre . The award will be for $500, twice per year, beginning in 2013. We agreed to fund the award for a term of three years. The criteria for receiving the award has not been settled as yet, but will be awarded based on one or a combination of highest marks, attendance and effort as determined by the instructor.

Time to start thinking about spring and our seasonal social events. Race Nite will take place at Woodbine Racetrack on May 2, featuring thoroughbred racing for your entertainment and (hopefully) profit. Our spring golf tradition continues May 30 at Glen Eagle Golf Club in Bolton, Ont. Don’t worry, you will only remember the good shots.

Glass Trades Association
The GTA handed out its 2012 awards at its Jan. 7 meeting. The winners were:

  • 1st year – Wolfgang Kron from Specialty Glazing
  • 2nd year – Amber Pollock from Flynn
  • 3rd year – Garet Gagne from Alumatec
  • 4th year – Mike Carline from Specialty Glazing

The recipients were chosen not only for their grades but also for their overall attitude, willingness to help others and desire to learn.

  • Don Simpson Award – Wolfgang Kron from Specialty Glazing
  • Bill Blakeny Award – Garet Gagne from Alumatec

The following companies were presented with the Certificate of Excellence Award:

  • All Glass Parts
  • Alberta Glass
  • All Weather Windows Commercial
  • Architectural Glass
  • Creative Glass
  • Desa Glass

Glass and Architectural Metals Association
The GAMA has announced the results of its board elections held Nov. 8, 2013. The new board is:

  • President: Chris Johnson (Oldcastle Building-
  • Envelope)
  • First vice-president: Jim Cossar (Nabco Entrances)
  • Past president: Lee McRae (Griffin Glass)
  • Director at large: Sean Rolfe (Tremco)
  • Secretary: Shay Hanratty (Thermal Aluminum)
  • PGAA: Jim Brady (Desa Glass)
  • CCA: John Reitmeier (Grant Metals)
  • Treasurer/membership: Elaine Reitmeier (Grant Metals)
  • Newsletter: Mat Lloyd (Attivo Glass)
  • Guest speaker: Dale Hagel (All Weather Windows)
  • Social events: Gwen Phillips (PPG Canada)
  • Safety: Currently vacant
  • Education: Ed Dalzell/Brian Risbey/Dennis Lidfors (SAIT)
  • PAC: Jim Brady

Print this page


Stories continue below


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *